Skip to content

Strictly Week 3

October 3, 2009

For the first time tonight, all remaining couples will compete, performing either a quickstep or a paso doble. Quicksteps are generally good, and the paso can either be fabulous, or terrible, but it’s usually entertaining.I am looking forward to Zoe and James’ paso, Ali and Brian’s quickstep and Jade and Ian’s quickstep. I think Jo and Brendan’s paso could be very entertaining, but maybe not for the right reason, although I quite like her. I’m not looking forward to Joe and Kristina’s paso, mainly because I had such high hopes for him before his first dance!

In other news, Phil Tufnell will undergo keyhole surgery on his knee on Sunday, but reckons he’ll be back in training by Wednesday.  The musical guest this week is Andy Williams, and there is a behind the scenes look at the set with Matthew Cutler on the Strictly website, in which he helpfully confirms that he will be dancing in the pro dance tonight.

As far as Dancing With The Stars goes, we’re a bit behind. We only just saw the first week’s elimination on Friday night. I’m disappointed that we lost Ashley Hamilton, as I thought he had the chance to improve, but I’m quite glad Macy Gray has gone, as she was scary! Overall, I thought the girls were of a higher standard than the boys, with the exception of Donny Osmond, who performed just as well as I expected him to. Kelly Osbourne did well, and was surprisingly likeable, which I really didn’t expect. I was impressed with Natalie Coughlin and Joanna Krupa, and Mya was as good as I expected her to be, despite being savaged by Len, who was obviously in need of his nap! I do think Dmitry should probably try for a slightly more traditional ballroom next time out though, just to prove they are capable of it, but I thought the dance itself was beautiful:

The pro dance tribute to Patrick Swayze was wonderful, and for me, it was nice to see Tony getting a starring role in one of the big pro numbers, instead of Derek, Mark and Julianne. Louis has certainly pulled out all the stops with his choreography this season:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

