Skip to content

Strictly Week 2 Ballroom Night

September 25, 2009

I was very excited for tonight. I thought it would have worn off a bit after last week, and with Matthew not being there, but I think having It Takes Two on this week made it all better!

Overall, I think the standard tonight was better than last week, but it may just have been because those I expected to perform did, or maybe there was just a bit less pressure. I wish Bruce would let the Alesha thing lie now. I understand why he brought it up, he wanted her to know that she had the support of the crew/cast etc, but now I think they need to ignore it. Alesha will get more confident, and if the papers keep on, the show, and Alesha need to be seen to rise above it, and treat the coverage with the disdain it deserves.

Natalie and Vincent danced first, and I was pleasantly surprised. I hadn’t expected her to be very good, but I enjoyed their tango, and I hope the cha-cha is as good tomorrow. If it is, she might make it to next week.

Zoe and James were next, with their waltz, which was stunning. Her dress was beautiful, and the dance was simple but lovely. She covered her nerves well, but James needs to control his urge to answer the judges back. I like him, and I like that he doesn’t feel the need to always play nice, but he is not one of the most popular dancers, and many people don’t like that side to him, so I think for the first few weeks, he needs to bite his tongue, unless the judges get vicious.

Craig Kelly and Flavia were third to take to the floor, and I do have some hopes for hiom. he coped with what I thought was a very ambitious tango, but didn’t quite cover his nerves. Overall I was happy with the dance.

Richard Dunwoody and Lilia were next with their waltz, I enjoyed it but Richard is going to have to do an awful lot better in his latin. He might make it to next week, probably due to Lilia’s popularity, but I am not sure he will make it much further.

Laila and Anton followed, with a tango which I have to assume had more impact if you were there. I didn’t feel the dance at all, and I got the impression that the partnership is not working. I also think Laila may get stuck with the ‘Gabby’ tag, as she seems very competitive, especially with Zoe, and this traditionally does not win fans.

Next up, was the one we’ve been waiting for, Phil Tufnell and Katya’s waltz. I expect Phil to make it through the first few weeks regardless of ability, however I was quite impressed with this, he did more than I thought he would, and he did seem to be trying. Again, though, I wonder how well he and Katya actually get on.

Jo Wood and Brendan’s tango was next. I feel a little sorry for Jo, as she doesn’t come into the show with a ready made fan base, and she has seemed to be struggling with both nerves and learning the dance. Overall, she tried, but it was not very good. I thought Brendan, however, was lovely to her, and took the judges comments well, which is not always the case.

Finally, Ricky Whittle and Natalie danced their waltz, and it was every bit as good as they promised. He had one slip, but he did not let the overall performance drop, and they looked spectacular together. Easily deserved the top spot on the leaderboard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

