Skip to content

A Little Light Music

September 12, 2009

I happened to be watching Last Night of the Proms on BBC One this evening, something I haven’t done for a few years. I tuned in just in time to see a fantastic performance of Piazzolla’s Libertango, by the BBC Symphony Orchestra and solo trumpeter Alison Balsom, which gave me chills. It did make me think that maybe the BBC are missing a trick here – they have access to these fabulous musicians, and I wonder why they don’t make more use of them in Strictly Come Dancing. For me, this is one area where Dancing With The Stars outshines Strictly – although they like to use current hits for the dances, they are not afraid to use classical or traditional pieces when appropriate – such as Gilles Marini and Cheryl Burke’s outstanding Paso last season, performed to Bizet’s Habanera aria from Carmen.

As much as I enjoyed both Mark Ramprakash and Karen Hardy’s and Rachel Stevens and Vincent Simone’s Argentine Tangos in Strictly, and I do believe the music worked brilliantly for both dances, I still have this niggling feeling that they would have been even better set to some ‘real’ tango music.

Anyone else?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

